The Consortium

The East West Rail Consortium – a group of local authorities and businesses – was formed in 1995 with an interest in improving access to and from East Anglia and the Milton Keynes South Midlands growth area.

Strategic Board Meetings

Past meetings of the Board with agenda items will be published here:

September 11 2018 (Cambridge)


Item 2 – Terms of Reference – Annex A – schedule

Item 2 – Terms of Reference – Annex A

Item 2 – Terms of Reference

Item 3 – Notes of last Meeting

Item 4 – Annex B – Timeline

Item 4 – Annex A – Letter of Support to TWAO

Item 4 – Response to TWAO

Item 8 – Eastern Prospectus

Item 9 – Freight Study

Item 10 – Work Programme ORCS Report

For Information – Consortium Work Programme Summary

14 June 2018 (Bedford)


Item 3 Terms of Reference Report

Item 5 AGM 11 April 2018 – Notes of meeting

Item 7a Eastern Section Prospectus board paper

Item 7b Eastern Section Draft Prospectus

Item 8.1 Central Section – Strategic Objectives and Conditional Output Statements

Item 9.2 Western section – Service Planning

Item 10.1 ORCS remit

Item 10.2 ORCS funding

Item 10.3 LRLC report


Members of the Consortium Strategic Board include:

  • Cherwell District Council
  • Oxfordshire County Council
  • Northampton Borough Council
  • Aylesbury Vale District Council
  • Wycombe District Council
  • Buckinghamshire County Council
  • Milton Keynes Council
  • Bedford Borough Council
  • Central Bedfordshire Council
  • Luton Borough Council
  • South Cambridgeshire District Council
  • Cambridgeshire County Council
  • Stevenage Borough Council
  • North Hertfordshire District Council
  • Hertfordshire County Council
  • Norwich City Council
  • Norfolk County Council
  • Suffolk Coastal District Council and Waveney District Council (East Suffolk Council)
  • Forest Heath District Council and St Edmundsbury Borough Council (West Suffolk Councils)
  • Suffolk County Council
  • Ipswich Borough Council

Ex-officio Members:

  • Buckinghamshire Thames Valley Local Enterprise Partnership
  • South East Midlands Local Enterprise Partnership
  • Department for Transport
  • East West Railway Company
  • Network Rail

Consortium Structure

The Consortium was established by Ipswich Borough Council who provided the chairman until 2005.

It is currently chaired by Mark Shaw, Cabinet Member for Transport at Buckinghamshire County Council. The Consortium holds a regular Strategic Board, attended by elected politicians representing the authorities of the Consortium.

Our Track Record

  • Oxford to London Marylebone line now open, including new stations at Oxford Parkway and Bicester Village
  • Bicester-Bedford and Princes Risborough-Milton Keynes lines due to come into operation in early 2020s.
  • Trains between Cambridge and Norwich have run since 2002 and Cambridge and Ipswich since 2004
  • Promoting need to improve Eastern Section, east of Cambridge
  • Broad corridor linking Bedford to Cambridge identified in 2016 – work continues on detailed plan